Craigmillar Castle

Mary, Queen of Scots Home Page

The hall was the principal room of the original castle, built in the early 1400's. It takes up the whole first floor of the main part of the tower, with a kitchen, originally entered direct from the stairs, occupying the southern wing. Further up the stairs, above the kitchen, is the laird's bedchamber. The more modern and spacious accommodation built in the East range (below) in the 1550's is probably where Mary, Queen of Scots stayed in 1563 and 1566.
Hall of the East Range Viewpoint from the East Range
The castle's highest point is the roof of the tower house. From here you get stunning views in all directions. Edinburgh Castle lies on the skyline to the north west, while to the north it is Salisbury Crags and Arthur's Seat which command attention. Closer at hand is the housing development of Craigmillar, now newly transformed.
The view from above with Arthur's Seat in the distance Looking over the west range, with Salisbury Crags and Edinburgh Castle in the far distance
In 1660 Sir John Gilmour bought Craigmillar from George Preston, whose family had been owners for about three centuries. In 1661, Sir John set about creating within the shell of its medieval walls a new residence appropriate to his status as Lord President of the Court of Session and Lord of the Exchequer. The result was the complete rebuilding of the west range.
Detail of Tower house wall Doorway into the 17th century west range

Click Back to First Page